Serving Minnesota and Northern Iowa.

North Iowa well represented at National FFA Convention

By Jean Caspers-Simmet

Date Modified: 11/14/2013 8:12 AM

E-mail article | Print version

ANKENY, Iowa — Many north Iowa FFA members will compete in contests and receive awards at the National FFA Convention Oct. 30 to Nov. 2 in Louisville.

Brian Haden from South O'Brien FFA at Paullina is a national finalist in the National FFA Agriscience Fair.

For FFA Agricultural Proficiency Awards, Hannah Fisher of North-Linn FFA at Troy Mills is a national finalist in Agricultural Mechanics Energy Systems — Entrepreneurship/Placement and Evan Magnussen of South O'Brien FFA at Paullina is a national finalist for Forage Production — Entrepreneurship/Placement. Fisher and Magnussen will compete in their areas for national awards.

Several FFA chapters will be honored with the National Chapter Award. Three star winners are Jesup, Nashua-Plainfield, Vinton Shellsburg, Waverly-Shell Rock, West Liberty, Benton, La Porte-Dysart, Mid-Prairie, Oelwein, Tall Corn and Wapsie Valley. Two star winners are Anamosa, Brokaw, Griswold, North-Linn, Southeast Polk, Waverly-Shell Rock, East Sac, Indianola, North Fayette, Webster City and Winterset.

Oelwein FFA will compete in the Marketing Plan and Veterinary Science Career Development Events. Marketing Plan team members are Hannah Fink, Emily Kalb and Tessa Stewart. The Veterinary Science team is Aimee Byerly, John McDonough, Lexie Gamm and Maura Moeller.

West Lyon FFA at Inwood will represent Iowa in the Agricultural Mechanics Career Development Event. Team members are James Dubbelde, Nickolas Meester, Reagen Meyer and Cody Ver Steeg.

Sumner Fredericksburg FFA will compete in Agronomy and Dairy Cattle Judging Career Development Events. Agronomy Team members are Bridget Bouska, Isiah Brandt, Kristen Reno and Lucas Wendland. Dairy Judging Team members are Nathan Arthur, Tessa Meyer, Lindsey Meyer and Jessica Wurzer.

Charles City FFA will represent the state in Food Science. Team members are Bailee Henja, Ashley Vance, Myla Meyer and Tate Jaeger.

Cole Moody from LaPorte-Dysart FFA is Iowa's Creed Speaker. Willow Huber from Benton Community FFA at Van Horne will compete in Extemporaneous Speaking. Wapsie Valley FFA at Fairbank will compete in Parliamentary Procedure. Team members are Taylor Waldstein, Ally Klein, Katie Neil, Anna Platte and Morgan Meinecke.

There are 119 Iowa young people receiving American FFA Degrees which are awarded to members who have demonstrated the highest level of commitment to FFA and made significant accomplishments in their Supervised Agricultural Experiences. Approximately 3,500 American FFA Degrees are handed out each year. That number represents less than half of one percent of all FFA members, making it one of the organization's highest honors.

North Iowa American FFA Degree recipients are Brandon Andresen and Taylor Davis, both of Benton Community; Dan John Bahe, Devin Derflinger, Amanda Groleau, Lance Haar, Tyler Rau, Justin Stewart and Logan Worden, all of Oelwein; Courtney Bartz, Garrett Cole and Hailey Meitner, all of St. Ansgar; Kevin Berkland, Steven Brockshus and Joshua Earll, all of Sibley-Ocheyedan; Dustin Bigler, Andrew Luzum and Jordan Tietz, all of Decorah; Ashley Bushman, South Winneshiek;

Also, John Clark and Alex Emerson, both of Osage; Cody Cripe and Kelli Zuck, both of Wapsie Valley; Shawn Crooks, New Hampton; Carol Daniels and Emily Lair, both of Estherville; Katelyn Decker, Cody McLees, Josie McQuillen, Robert Trumm and Nicholas Weber, all of Cascade; Tanner Deering, Postville; Mike DeRuyter, Rock Valley; Erica Eastman, Riceville; Nichole Fagle, Nicholas Henn, Brianna Lee, Benjamin Lueder, Bobbi Jo Ney, Hanna Thoms and Kevin Vierow, all of North Fayette; Also, Luke Fober and Madison Kirchmann, both of Sumner Fredericksburg FFA; Cassie Galm, Spencer; Kelly Glanz, West Delaware; Gatlin Heinzeroth, Iowa Falls-Alden; Caroline Knoblock, Hartley-Melvin-Sanborn; Kevin Laubenthal, Algona; Cole Magnussen, Newell-Fonda; Tyler Mitchell, Charles City; Brett Mulder, Aplington-Parkersburg; Stefanie Newhouse, Hudson; Jacob Perkins, Starmont; Katelyn Samuelson, LaPorte-Dysart; Nicole Schubert, Rockford; and Stephen Stinson, Vinton-Shellsburg.