Serving Minnesota and Northern Iowa.
 Home > Pork 

2014 youth team set to represent Iowa

From news reports

Date Modified: 02/24/2014 11:26 PM

E-mail article | Print version

DES MOINES — The Iowa Pork Producers Association selected its 2014 Pork Queen, Pork Princess and Youth Ambassador at the recent Iowa Pork Congress in Des Moines.

Sarah Wall, of Iowa City, will serve as Pork Queen. Katlyn Kahler, of Cambridge, is the 2014 Pork Princess, and Matt Kerns, of Clearfield, is the new Youth Ambassador.

Wall is a freshman at Kirkwood Community College in Cedar Rapids. She is majoring in agricultural geospatial technology and ag education and minoring in animal science. Wall plans to transfer to Iowa State University or Dordt College next fall and pursue a degree in ag education. She is the daughter of Tom and Anita Wall.

Kahler is a freshman at ISU. She is studying animal science and working toward a five-year master's degree program. Katlyn hopes to pursue a marketing and sales career in the swine industry following graduation. Her parents are Wade and Pam Kahler.

Kerns also attends ISU and is in his sophomore year. He is an animal science major with an interest in swine genetics. His goal is to be active in high-quality niche pork marketing and helping impoverished nations develop affordable and sustainable protein sources. He is the son of Steve and Becky Kerns.

Nine county pork queens entered the Iowa Pork Queen contest and two youths entered the Pork Ambassador competition. All of the contestants participated in interviewing and communications exercises and were judged on their skills, poise, presentation and overall knowledge of the pork industry and Iowa agriculture.

Wall, Kahler and Kerns will represent IPPA at various pork promotional and educational events throughout the year.

The new Pork Queen and Youth Ambassador each receive a $2,000 scholarship, and the Iowa Pork Princess earns a $1,000 scholarship from IPPA.

The 2013 Iowa Pork Youth Team of Queen Breanna Branderhorst, of Prairie City, Princess Kendra Kehrli, of Winthrop, and Ambassador Emily Klootwyk, of Knoxville, concluded their terms with farewell speeches.